Send Claire Somewhere! (Round 1)

21 Sep

Hello!

Well, we are finally a complete set! All of my flatmates have officially moved in. Our newest resident is an international student from Canada named Kirk. All the rest are UK students, and most are from about an hour and a half outside of London. While some felt sorry that he had to live with all girls, I think he lucked out! After all, I have lived with boys and I can tell you right now that girls are typically much cleaner, much quieter and much better cooks. (Except me, since I’m loud, messy and a rather unaccomplished chef). Last night we all went to Roebuck’s, our pub next door, for a drink. I am lucky to have gotten such a great group of flatmates.


From left to right: Afsha, Portia, Lizzie, Robyn and Kuljit


From left to right: Portia, Afsha, Lizzie, Kuljit and Kirk

I am getting a bit better at using the public transportation system since I’ve been practicing a lot with my daily trips to Strand Campus. The bus routes are more complicated than the tube, but often more direct. And while the walk to the bus stop is a bit farther than walk to the tube station, it is considerably cheaper. I feel very accomplished when I reach my destination, even more so when I get thoroughly lost and still manage to find my way!

Send Claire Somewhere! (Round 1)

Tomorrow I will have my departmental welcome meetings for History and Classics and then I have a 5 hour break before I have to be back at the Strand Campus for a ‘Living in London’ session. Which means it’s time for an exciting game of “Send Claire Somewhere!” It’s like one of those ‘choose your own ending’ books, except that it’s my real life adventure and you’ll get to read about it!! (That didn’t sound as exciting once I typed it out…)

Here are your choices for tomorrow. Please read the descriptions and vote for your favorite choice! Once an adventure is completed, it will be replaced with a new one from my London ‘To Do’ list, along with the choices that don’t win and are recycled next round. I’ll be sure to write a thorough post about my experience and I’ll do my best to include photographs as well (depending on the museum photography rules).

The British Museum

Admission: Free (£3 donation suggested)
Location: Bloomsbury, in the West End 

Formed in 1749, this museum houses over seven million items expanded through both “judicious acquisition and controversial plundering”, including the Elgin Marbles (or Parthenon Marbles) and the Rosetta Stone. The massive BM features galleries devoted to Roman and British medieval antiquities, Egyptian, Western Asian, Greek, the Orient, African, the Estruscans, the Romans, Italian and pre-historic cultures.


The Victoria and Albert Museum

Admission: Free (£1 donation suggested for purchase of museum map)
Location: South Kensington

Opened in 1852 as part of Prince Albert’s legacy for the “improvement of public taste in design”, the V&A specializes in decorative art and design with nearly 4.5 million objects (some dating back as far as 3,000 years). Spread over 145 galleries, the museum holds the largest collection of decorative arts: from Chinese ceramics to modernist architectural drawings; cartoons by Raphael to Elizabethan era gowns; dresses from the Paris runway to Islamic art. One popular item is the plaster cast of Michelangelo’s David, and a detachable plaster fig leaf that was used on royal visits after Queen Victoria expressed her shock over the statue’s nudity.


The Tate Modern

Admission: Free (£3 donation suggested)
Location: South Bank

While art critics have occasionally guffawed at the Tate’s populism, over 5 million visitors each year make this museum the most popular contemporary art gallery in the world and the most visited sight in London (just ahead of the British Museum). The permanent collections are devoted to early-20th-century avant-garde movements such as futurism, surrealism and cubism. And other galleries include emphasis on European and American painting and sculpture from the 1940s-50s and revolutionary art from the 1960s. More than 60,000 items are constantly on rotation through the museum, including works by Matisse, Warhol, Mondrian, Pollock, Mondrian and Lichtenstein.


The National Gallery

Admission: Free (£3 donation suggested for use of audioguide)
Location: Leicester, the West End

Despite being one of the largest galleries in the world, with over 2,000 Western European works on display,  the NG is renown for it’s quality rather than quantity. With chronological galleries ranging from 1260-1900s, poignant paintings from every important epoch in art history are on display including works by da Vinci, Michelangelo, Renoir, Van Gogh, Botticelli, Raphael, Van Eyck and Monet.


Vote Here!
Poll closes at 2:30AM, Texas time

Cheers,

Claire

3 Responses to “Send Claire Somewhere! (Round 1)”

  1. Ramon September 22, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

    If you don’t go to the Tate Musuem I will disinherit you.

  2. Alex September 23, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    My top 2 for you: British museum (because you love and are so good at history – they have EVERYTHING) and Tate museum (because it’s a super cool experience)…ENJOY london!!

    Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
    If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
    If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
    even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
    -Psalm 139:7-10
    He’s always with you Claire!!! love youuuu!

  3. Andrewski. September 23, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    TATE MUSEUM! PLEASE! AND TELL ME ALL ABOUT IT!!!! HAVE A GREAT TIME WHEREVER YOU GO! I THINK THE PEANUT BUTTER UNDER MY CAPS LOCK… UGGIN!! K COOL. LOVE YOU K BYE!

Leave a Reply

